top of page

365 days: My journey back to school as a SAHM


It's been a long time since I've been in a class setting, and never as an online student (guess I'm old skool, like that). I've also never been a mother before. I'd prefer a class setting, but your wants, goals and priorities shift when you become a parent. Before everything was about me, now its all about Rigel. And I wouldn't have it any other way.

Going back to work at a salon sounds horrible to me. Going back to an hourly job, just to pay for gas and a sitter doesn't make sense mathematically (I'm not even the 'good with numbers' kind of Asian, either, and even I know that!) . I'd love to get my massage therapist license up to date, but the expense to do so, the time involved, and ROI doesn't really make logical sense.

I had a crazy idea to become a personal vegan chef in town and host date nights in people's homes, teach classes, maybe even teach people how to shop for their goals and budget. If you follow the SAD diet, you probably think healthy eating is boring, expensive and takes a lot of work. I want to teach people locally that it's fun and can save you money in the short and long term.

So I did a google search of requirements. Found some culinary programs, but all focused on meats. Google search after Google search and I came across Jenne Clairborne at Sweet Potato Soul. I think it was her YouTube channel. Well, I found her and I got so excited! I told my husband I wasn't crazy and that someone else is doing what I want to do. I dug and dug some more. I followed all her social media accounts. Then I found it. The shining pot of gold at the end of the rainbow- She went to school to Institute of Integrative Nutrition, and online school dedicated to learning about nutrition, holistic wellness and best of all, business.

I went to school and worked hard for over a decade of my life trying to make it as massage therapist and hairstylist. I'd say, and clients as well, would say I am very talented in both fields. Even had more than a few follow me all over town and industries (For that, I am beyond blessed). You can have all the talent in the world, but without business knowledge, you won't get very far. The fact that 1/3 of the curriculum is focused on you succeeding in business is what sold me. Classes don't start for another 6 weeks, and they are already teaching me some business methods to implement now. When I graduate I can count on them for support and guidance forever. They don't just pat me on the back and have me go on my way after I pass the final exams like other schools do.

I'm excited about being able to show Rigel the importance of education, dedication and hard work. I am hoping to be a great example to him, to show him that if you really want something, you have to work. I think the biggest challenge will be getting him on a schedule so that I can get MY day scheduled. Michael will be away on orders from October until mid-January so the first few months will be a real test for me, but I'm up for the challenge. After all, whatever doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger.

bottom of page